Skip to content
Up to 10% multi buy discounts. < Learn more >
Up to 10% multi buy discounts. < Learn more >

The Usborne Reading 40 Books Collection for Confident Readers - Ages 5-7 - Paperback

by Usborne
SKU: B2D0170 ISBN: 9781474927802
Current price £28.44
Original price £159.60
You Save £131.16 (82%)

If you’re looking for an impressive collection of stories with plenty of characters, topics and tales then the Usborne 40 books set is a must-have for every young reader’s library at home. Aimed at confident readers aged between 5-7, this collection gives children a fantastic variety of short fiction books that will encourage and prompt them to read more, but also more independently. The 40 titles included in this stunning and colourful collection are designed to help children grow as readers. The Usborne 40 Book Collection includes a broad range of story styles, with readable text and fully illustrated pages, to encourage readers to find the themes they enjoy most and also try something different from time to time.

With 40 impressive stories to choose from, you may not know where to begin! Parents may recognise some classic and historic titles such as Gulliver’s Travels and even The Phantom of the Opera which have been updated and modernised to suit today’s younger, budding reader. Starting with this can be a great way to engage readers if parents act out some of the characters or use different accents to bring them to life. These choices open up children’s imagination to arts, culture and theatre while maintaining the fun of a fiction story. Among the epic 40-book collection, there are also some familiar and adventurous titles such as Treasure Island, Robin Good and The Amazing Adventure itself. You can even unleash a spooky side with titles including The Canterville Ghost, The Fairground Ghost and The Midnight Ghosts. Rest assured, there are plenty of ways to approach these 40 books in the Usborne Collection for Confident Readers and gradually work your way through the entire set. Encouraging children to choose the books they would like to read first can also be a great place to start, and it won’t be long before they are onto the next one.

Having a reading library like this is crucial to helping children develop their literacy skills. Taking centre space on any child’s bookshelf, the 40 paperback books are neatly encapsulated in a hard box case and full of bright illustrations that makes every story a pleasure to read from cover to cover. With this in mind, the books are a great balance between pictures and text, as readers continue to transition away from books that rely heavily on pictures. They provide a stepping stone from picture books to reading books. Children will appreciate the simple yet fun-filled storylines while these books are an ideal learning resource to supplement their literacy lessons from school, in the comfort of your own home. These short chapter books are a great read for beginners at any time of the day whether it’s curling up to a good before winding down to bed or as a break from the usual mayhem throughout the day. The Usborne 40 book collection could also be a brilliant idea for a gift and passed down through siblings. 

Children’s publisher Usborne is renowned for producing some of the bestselling books around. Crowned Children’s Publisher of the Year in 2020, Usborne brings fantastic collections of stories to young readers and knows what will keep them engaged. Usborne have been creating amazing, quality titles for several decades helping millions of children develop important reading skills through the generations. Each book has been thoroughly planned, researched and carefully put together to ensure it is effectively teaching children about the essential skills of reading, you may find books that are fantastic for babies, children and young people.

Titles in this set :

Series 2

The first 25 books are taken from Usborne Young Reading Series Two.

1. The Story of Cars
2. Treasure Island
3. The Story of the Olympics
4. Mystery Mansion
5. The Fairground Ghost
6. The Story of Flying
7. Jason and The Golden Fleece
8. The Shocking Story of Electricity
9. Hercules The World's Strongest Man
10. The Amazing Adventures of Ulysses
11. The Incredible Present
12. The Magical Book
13. The Midnight Ghosts
14. The Prince and the Pauper
15. A Little Princess
16. Gulliver's Travels
17. Robinson Crusoe
18. The Phantom of the Opera
19. Robin Hood
20. The Firebird
21. The Canterville Ghost
22. The Enchanted Castle
23. Aesop's Fables
24. East of The Sun, West of the Moon
25. Twelfth Night

    Series 3:

    The next 15 books are taken from Usborne Young Reading Series Three.

    1. The Count of Monte Cristo
    2. Othello
    3. Pride and Prejudice
    4. Jane Eyre
    5. White Fang
    6. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Me. Hyde
    7. Stories of Vampires
    8. Little Women
    9. Pompell
    10. The Three Musketeers
    11. Oliver Twist
    12. Anne Frank
    13. Frankenstein
    14. The Odyssey
    15. William Shakespeare

    Description :

    A broad range of story styles, all with lively readable text and fully illustrated pages, encouraging children to find the themes they enjoy most, and also give children the option to try something different from time to time. The first 25 Books in this collection are taken from the Usborne Young Reading Series Two in which many of the stories are adaptations of timeless world classics for children and adults alike... The next 15 Books are taken from the Usborne Young Reading Series Three which include longer adaptations to develop the readers' stamina, and also history books and biographies too giving the child a wider curriculum through each book. This collection box set has 40 books.