Skip to content
Free Delivery for 12 months with Books2DoorPLUS
Free Delivery for 12 months with Books2DoorPLUS

Magic Faraway Tree and Wishing Chair Series 6 Books Box set - Ages 7-9 - Paperback - Enid Blyton

SKU: B2D0055 ISBN: 9780603568121
Current price £10.95
£10.95 - £10.95
Current price £10.95
Original price £41.94
Original price £41.94 - Original price £41.94
Original price £41.94
Sold out

When Joe, Beth and Frannie move to a new home, an Enchanted Wood is on their doorstep. And when they discover the Faraway Tree, that is the beginning of many magical adventures! Join them and their friends Moonface, Saucepan Man and Silky the fairy as they discover which new land is at the top of the Faraway Tree. Will it be the Land of Spells, the Land of Treats, or the Land of Do-As-You-Please? There'll be adventures waiting for them, whatever happens; funny, magical adventures that will delight children again and again.

Titles in This Set:

  • The Magic Faraway Tree
  • The Folk of the Faraway Tree
  • The Enchanted Wood
  • The Adventures of the Wishing-chair
  • The Wishing-chair Again
  • More Wishing-chair Stories

Escape to the land of faraway with this 6-book set from the iconic children’s author, Enid Blyton. This is perfect for readers on the hunt for a series that is packed full of adventure and magical plots that will truly engage eager bookworms. The ideal collection to boost a child’s reading at home, these kids’ books provide a range of imaginative scenarios with plenty of ups and downs for children to relate to - making each story a pleasure to read. Through her excellent tales, Enid Blyton knows exactly how to bring to life different lands, woods and magical spaces in a way that captures young minds and takes them to a place where they can escape.

Aimed primarily at children between the ages of 7-9, children will enjoy following the loveable trio Joe, Beth and Frannie as they explore enchanted woods and determine their fate on a wishing chair, again and again. These legendary fiction stories with short chapters can be enjoyed as children start to transition away from books that have heavy illustrations and instead shift towards a little more attention on chapter reading. Whether you want to snuggle up before bed with your child as a way to encourage reading out loud or let them build their confidence in becoming independent readers, the Enchanted Woods 6-book collection is the perfect set for this. Use the short chapters to prompt longer periods of reading, the reward will be completing the story! Each one is a page turner in its own right and once children have enjoyed the first book in the collection, they’ll soon be onto the next.

Suitable for fans of older tales and readers ages 7-9, 

About the author:

In Enid Blyton’s early career, she worked as a teacher and governess. Blyton actually first published a poem when she was only 14, it appeared in a children’s magazine. In the year 1921, Blyton’s work including poems and stories were gaining heat in several magazines and things were looking bright for her. In 1922, Blyton’s first published book of poems called Child Whispers found success, sooner or later on around 1924 Blyton dedicated her entire life to totally working as a writer full-time. This long career of Blyton lasted until around 1965, she wrote over 600 children’s books as well as a number of articles for magazines! Blyton has covered a wide range of genres in her work, to name a few includes mystery, adventure, school life and more, some of her most well known works are Famous Five, Secret Seven, Little Noddy. The books that she wrote about would make the obvious separation between good and evil or good and bad characters, many of which contain very exhilarating scenarios and many of these tales would aim to teach children about morality. Due to the direct and simple nature of how Blyton writes, her stories are easily understood by many across the world, even though Blyton may have been negatively judged and disapproved by some who feels that the characters falls into stereotypes, yet her works has reached many and lives on today as a memorable legacy. 

In the 21st century, she has sold more than 400 million copies of her books and her work has been translated into more than 90 languages. Blyton mentioned that in most cases, she did not plan her stories in advance but she actually allowed herself to write freely in the moment and let the flow take her away as she writes, using her imagination and instincts. 

The Magic Faraway Tree

Cousin Dick comes to stay with Jo, Bessie and Fanny and together they share many more wonderful adventures up the Faraway Tree. With Moonface, Saucepan Man and Silky the pixie, they explore the amazing lands to be found at the top of the tree – the Land of Spells, the Land of Toys, and the tempting Land of Goodies, but then one day Moonface, Silky and Saucepan Man disappear mysteriously. Where have they gone, and why are people from the Land of Tempers living in the tree instead?

The Enchanted Woods

When Jo, Bessie and Fanny leap over a ditch near their new house in the country, they find themselves in an Enchanted Wood where trees whisper their secrets and magic is everywhere. In the middle of the wood grows the most wonderful tree in the world – The Faraway Tree, with its top-most branches touching the clouds, magical fruit, the exciting Slippery-Slip, and cosy houses set in its vast trunk. The children soon explore the tree, meeting the strange people who live there, including Moonface, Silky the pixie and Dame Washalot.

The Folk of the Faraway Tree

When Curious Connie comes to stay with Jo, Bessie and Fanny, the three children are keen to introduce her to their magical friends in the Faraway Tree – but Connie doesn't believe in magic, or fairy-folk, and pours scorn on everything she sees. Even so, they explore a host of lands, including Nursery Rhyme Land, the land of Dame Slap, and climb up the Ladder That Has No Top, but then disaster strikes: The Faraway Tree is dying – its leaves curling up and no fruit growing on its branches. What is wrong with the magical tree, and can it be saved before it's too late?

The Adventures of the Wishing-chair

"The Adventures of the Wishing Chair" - When Mollie and Peter go to buy their mother a birthday present, they discover the most extraordinary thing: a chair that can fly and grant wishes! The Wishing-Chair takes them on some marvellous adventures - to a castle where they narrowly escape from a giant and rescue Chinky the pixie, to the Land of Dreams, and to a disappearing island!You can be whisked away by Enid Blyton's magical Wishing-Chair stories.

The Wishing-chair Again

The "Wishing-Chair Again" - Mollie and Peter are home for the holidays and they long to see their pixie friend Chinky and their magic Wishing-Chair. Together they have wonderful adventures, but what happens when the Wishing-Chair is stolen and then gets its wings cut off by the naughty Slipperies?You can be whisked away by Enid Blyton's magical Wishing-Chair stories.

More Wishing-chair Stories

"More Wishing-Chair Stories" - Mollie and Peter and Chinky the pixie have more amazing adventures on their Wishing-Chair. They find gold at the end of the rainbow, they meet brownies and they visit the Land of Wishes. Best of all they get to help Santa Claus deliver presents for Christmas!You can be whisked away by Enid Blyton's magical Wishing-Chair stories.