Skip to content

Philip Pullman Books

  • Original price £8.99 - Original price £8.99
    Original price £8.99
    £8.99 - £8.99
    Current price £8.99

    The Secret Commonwealth (His Dark Materials: The Book of Dust 2) by Philip Pullman

    in stock

    **Don't miss the second series of His Dark Materials on BBC One this November.**From the author of the phenomenal His Dark Materials comes the next...

    View full details
    Original price £8.99 - Original price £8.99
    Original price £8.99
    £8.99 - £8.99
    Current price £8.99

Philip Pullman 

Philip Pullman was born in Norwich and has had a career spanning over 40 years. His first novel, The Haunted Storm, was published in 1973, but his most popular series is His Dark Materials Series which started with The Northern Lights, called The Golden Compass in the US in 1995. 

Pullman has released many other literary series over the years. The Sally Lockheart series began with The Ruby in the Smoke (1985) and ended with The Tin Princess (1994). He has also released The New Cut Gang series, The Book of Dust Series, and various standalone novels for children and adults. 

His Dark Materials 

Philip Pullman’s Young Adult Fantasy trilogy, His Dark Materials, follows Lyra Belacqua and her animal Daemon Pantalaimon (Pan for short) through an alternate version of our Earth. She is trying to discover more about her family and growing interest in her uncle Asriel’s research in ‘Dust’. 

The first book in the series is Northern Lights, also known as The Golden Compass. Published in 1995, this novel begins with a roughly eleven-year-old Lyra living at Jordon College, Oxford. The adventures continue for Lyra in book two of the His Dark Materials trilogy, The Subtle Knife. Published in 1997, Lyra meets Will Parry, who appears to be from a different world, one much closer to our world. 

Philip Pullman stated that his primary source of inspiration was John Milton’s Paradise Lost. His Dark Materials uses the idea of good and evil, God, Angels and the Devil that Milton describes in his 17th-century epic poem. 

The final book in the trilogy is The Amber Spyglass, published in 2000. However, the adventure doesn’t end here; Pullman also released several short stories and novellas that tie in with the trilogy. These are Lyra’s Oxford, Once Upon a Time in the North, The Collectors, Serpentine and most recently, The Imagination Chamber

Other Works

Pullman has produced many other novels through the years, including The Sally Lockhart Series and The Book of Dust Trilogy, with the final book yet to be released. He has also released children’s novels, including Count Karlstein, Spring-Heeled Jack, I was a Rat! or The Scarlet Slippers. Check out our Four Philip Pullman Fairy Tales Boxset or Philip Pullman’s Grimm Tales for Young and Old, an anthology of fairytales specifically chosen by Pullman with an introduction explaining their importance and their background. 

About the Author 

Sir Philip Nicholas Outram Pullman was born in Norwich in 1946. His father was an RAF pilot, so the family travelled significantly due to his role. Throughout his childhood, Pullman travelled to India, Yemen, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and the Canary Islands. His father died in combat in Kenya when Pullman was seven.

He attended boarding schools as a child and studied at Exeter College, Oxford. As he started to build worlds for His Dark Materials, he drew inspiration from his own experiences at school and University. He has been writing full-time since 1996 and specialises in Young Adult and Children’s fiction. 

As seen in

Get your order now

Ordering from Books2Door couldn't be simpler


We make it easy to find your favourite books


We pack your order safely and send it straight to your door


With book points, wishlist, refer a friend and more, you'll want to shop again


Any problems? Contact our support team

Big box sets at tiny prices

Big box sets at tiny prices

Welcome to Books2Door, the one-stop shop for all your children's book needs! We specialise in selling cheap children’s box sets and series at bargain prices.

At Books2Door, we believe that reading is a fundamental skill that every child should have to help improve their vocabulary, grammar, and critical thinking skills.

We understand that buying kids books can be expensive. That's why we offer a wide range of box sets and series at affordable prices, making it easier for parents, teachers, and libraries to access quality books for children.

Our team is made up of book lovers who are dedicated to sourcing and providing the best books for kids. We work closely with publishers and authors to ensure that we offer the best books on the market for your child.

Don't just take our word for it...

Check out our amazing reviews on TrustpilotGoogle Customer and more!


Are your books brand new? How are they such good value?

All our books are brand new and delivered to us straight from the publisher. Our special sales editions are bought in bulk at a great discount - which we pass on to you!

Are the books different from what I've seen in the high street?

Special sales editions are made with more affordable materials, allowing the publisher to keep the cost price down, and we can sell it for less than the standard editions

What if I have a problem with my order?

Our support team is available during regular business hours to support you with any questions you may have. Call or 0116 210 4294 or email us.

Fantastic Savings

Up to 80% off RRP

Unlimited Delivery

From £9.95 a year with PLUS+

1 Million Customers

Bargain prices since 2004

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Service

0116 210 4294 or email us