Skip to content
Free Delivery for 12 months with Books2DoorPLUS
Free Delivery for 12 months with Books2DoorPLUS

Julia Donaldson's Songbirds Phonics: Read with Oxford Stages 1-4 36 Books Collection Set - Ages 0-5 - Paperback

SKU: B2D0030 ISBN: 9780192776518
Current price £29.95
£29.95 - £29.95
Current price £29.95
Original price £143.64
Original price £143.64 - Original price £143.64
Original price £143.64
You Save 79% You Save 79%

Julia Donaldson Songbirds collection is one of our bestselling products, with the amazing books which have been helping kids around the world develop important reading skills. The collection was produced by Oxford University Press and each book was carefully crafted with words, sounds, spelling patterns and phonology to teach children the fundamentals of reading. Some words are rhymes and some tell a fun story to help kids engage with the story. Talented artists have helped illustrate the pages with fun and vibrant characters and scenes. 

The Julia Donaldson’s Songbirds collection contains phonics stories and reading advice to help parents and teachers guide children. The 36 books packed together neatly in a wallet, contains exciting titles which are carefully levelled to help readers gain reading confidence step by step. Julia Donaldson had continued to grace us with her talented and exciting writing skills, the same author that produced the ever so popular title The Gruffalo. In this collection, it can truly help ease children’s minds and help them develop their reading skills comfortably through playful rhythm and rhyming tales. Kids can gradually level up their reading skills to prepare them for classes in school, especially as children move on from class to class, year to year. This collection can serve as a fantastic additional resource for home learning and can truly help kids prepare themselves for new challenges and tests in school. Each story is bite sized, and promotes a positive attitude towards learning how to read, it is really not a surprise to us that our customers had continued to purchase this set every week. Thanks to the amazing books and well constructed style, it is helping thousands of children in growing their essential reading ability. This set is wonderful for ages 0-5, be sure to also check out our other bestselling titles such as Reading Champions and the Biff, Chip and Kipper series.

"Books are very attractive and stories are fun. Levels of difficulty increase at child's pace with colour levels instead of easy/hard labels." - Susan

"Lovely books. Great for my daughter who is not a confident reader." Rhia

"My little girl is in reception and is just learning to read. These books are great! I introduce a new one depending what sounds she is learning that week and she reads them to me!" - Maz 

This series has been a popular set for parents, the collection is a perfect book set for young kids learning how to read for the first time. For kids that are soon to be starting school or have already started, the Songbirds Phonics is just the essential book set you need to prepare kids in their reading capabilities. Parents around the world have loved the series since its release, parents have stated that the book set is wonderful, full of lovely illustrations, nicely sized fonts, funny, and relevant stories which can be further discussed even after reading. Perfect for ages 0-5

Songbirds is a wide thoroughly put together reading scheme of 60 books, the collection forms part of the hugely well known and successful Oxford Reading Tree range. Julia Donaldson began learning and teaching her younger sister how to read when she was just 6 years old. Julia Donaldson was extremely enchanted and excited with the learning development of words through phonics, sounds, spelling patterns. Julia Donaldson wanted to help kids develop reading skills effectively through sounds, and at first this posed a big challenge for Julia when she began her endeavour. Julia wanted to make each word easily divisible in a sense phonetically by children. Julia not only wanted to make reading a learning process easier for kids but create real stories that were engaging, fun and entertaining to read. Julia didn’t want to create boring or tedious and repetitive books, so her objective was to create artwork that accompanied well with the stories and each drawing needed to be fun as well as a variety included in each book, Julia understood that some reading schemes may become tiresome for kids especially if the theme is recurring constantly. Julia included many variations of themes and illustrations to cater to the interests of different kids and their unique interests and backgrounds. Julia created stories that were realistic and sentences that rhymed well, the challenge was to bring something new and efficient for young kids. The titles included illustrations produced by a variety of artists, and a few quizzes. These books are fantastic for home reading, useful as a learning tool for teachers in schools and parents who are looking for their first reading series for their kids. 

Written by Julia Donaldson, the author of The Gruffalo, the 36 books in this Songbirds Phonics Collection are especially designed to help ease young children through the process of learning to read.

From the Oxford Reading Tree, this collection combines playful rhythm-and-rhyme tales with vibrant and interesting illustrations sure to engage little ones.

Great for encouraging gradual progress and for preparing children for studies in primary school or supplementing their early learning, these bite-sized tales will promote an early positive reading experience.

Titles in This Set :

Stage 1
1. Bob Bug
2. Dig, Dig, Dig!
3. Mum Bug's Bag
4. Sam's Pot
5. Top Cat
6. Zak and the Vet
Stage 2
1. The Big Match
2. Doctor Duck
3. Fish and Chips
4. Gran is Cross
5. Miss! Miss! 
6. Singing Dad
7. Splash and Squelch
8. The Odd Pet
9. The Scrap Rocket
10. The Shopping List
11. This and That
12. The Trunk and the Skunk
Stage 3
1. The Cinderella Play
2. Leroy
3. Moan, Moan, Moan!
4. No Milk Today
5. Queen Anneena's Feast
6. The Snake and the Drake
7. Spike Says
8. Sue Kangaroo
9. Tadpoles
10. The Upside-down Browns
11. Usman's Books
12. The Wrong Kind of Knight
Stage 4
1. Clare and the Fair
2. The Deer and the Earwig
3. Jack and the Giants
4. Paula the Vet
5. Tara's Party
6. Where Were You, Bert? 

Description :

Oxford Reading Tree Songbirds Phonics are highly decodable, beautifully illustrated stories written by best-selling author Julia Donaldson. The series contains a variety of storylines, rhyme, rhythm and genre ensuring there is something for every child to enjoy. The rich, patterned language in the stories is decodable making them perfect for children to practise their phonics. Songbirds Phonics can be used as a complete phonics programme, or the individual books can be used for phonics practice alongside any other phonics programme.