Skip to content
Up to 10% multi buy discounts + 10% cashback *
Up to 10% multi buy discounts + 10% cashback *

The Sherlock Holmes Children's Collection: Shadows, Secrets and Stolen Treasure 10 Books (Series 1) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle - Ages 7-9 - Paperback

SKU: B2D2487 ISBN: 9781782264088
Current price £14.99
Original price £69.90
You Save £54.91 (79%)

 

Adapted by Stephanie Baudet

Summary

Sherlock Holmes is one of the most famous fictional characters ever created and is a literacy legend in his own right. He inspired the first fandom, he’s been portrayed on screen since the birth of the movies themselves, and he’s been a fancy dress staple for over a century. The Sherlock Holmes Children’s Collection: Shadows, Secrets and Stolen Treasure is an excellent introduction to the intrepid detective and his tireless chronicler Dr Watson.

The original canon by creator Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was written between 1887 and 1927 and remains in print to this day. However, younger readers are keen to get a hold of these stories. They may have seen the Robert Downey Jr. films, the Sherlock TV show, or simply heard of Sherlock Holmes through the grapevine. However, many may find the archaic language and the small, dense text used in many of these editions to be off-putting.

The Sherlock Holmes Children’s Collection: Shadows, Secrets and Stolen Treasure is a fantastic collection for readers seven and up. It contains retellings of ten Sherlock Holmes stories, retold in simple English with an easy-to-read font and illustrations. It includes Holmes’ debut adventure, A Study in Scarlet, the follow-up novel The Sign of the Four, and classic stories like The Sussex Vampire and The Speckled Band

It’s perfect for fans of A Murder Most Unladylike and readers who love to solve a mystery. This set is one of our bestsellers, and the beautiful box packs the timeless classics together. Be sure to check out our classic fiction category for more great titles. We’re constantly getting new titles in - which one will you detect?


About Sherlock Holmes

Sherlock Holmes is quite possibly one of the most influential personalities in the world of detective stories. He was created by the famous and talented Scottish writer Arthur Conan Doyle. He was arguably the first-ever consulting detective. Since his creation, Holmes has remained one of the most profound and recognisable characters in the detective world and genre.

Holmes first appeared in the novel A Study in Scarlet, published in 1887.  In the books, Holmes investigates complicated cases during the era of Victorian and Edwardian London. Only he can solve the mysteries that baffle the people in the city. The personality and characteristics of Sherlock Holmes were derived from the author’s professor called Dr Joseph Bell, who was a professor at the University of Edinburgh. 

Holmes would solve many highly complex problems and challenging cases, all recorded by his trusted partner and friend, Dr John H Watson. They pursue the mind-bending cases together. Even though Holmes’ ability to solve problems seems perplexing and challenging to grasp, he has a straightforward approach to his objectives. “When you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.”

Holmes is described as a tall, thin, dark man with a high nose, strong eyes, and angled shoulders. Watson often describes Holmes as a depressing and weird individual with odd traits. Holmes is often moody and untidy, yet he has a strict manner in many cases. However, he is exceptionally talented and very particular in his deduction. Though Holmes displays a very cold-hearted attitude towards people, he becomes lively and even described as overly obsessed when solving cases. 

Holmes possesses diverse expertise, including Chemistry, Human Anatomy, Sensational Literature, Geology and Martial Arts. Holmes is proficient at forensic science and logical thinking and often prefers to take the intellectual road. However, he’s also an adept swordsman, stickman, and pugilist when the situation calls for it.

Holmes plays the violin and has the habit of using drugs like morphine and cocaine, both legal during 19th century England. Holmes’ odd obsession with crime-solving and weird habits meant that he would often skip several days of meals. During some cases, this extended to the point of dangerous effects on his health.


About the authors

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was born in Edinburgh on 22 May 1859. He trained as a doctor and worked as a surgeon and a medical practitioner. He was an unsuccessful doctor but became a prolific and successful writer. His most enduring creation is Sherlock Holmes. The first two novels were well-received, but the character became a phenomenon only with his appearances in The Strand magazine.

Conan Doyle had created the character Sherlock Holmes based on his University professor Dr Joseph Bell at the University of Edinburgh Medical School. The fundamental similarity is his miraculous ability to collect crucial information and evidence from his natural observation, analytical skills, and reasoning talent. 

Despite the success of Sherlock Holmes, Conan Doyle wanted to end the series by killing off the character in hopes that he could prioritise other writing ideas he had at the time. However, the public and fans who were die-hard followers of his work at the time made a massive commotion that pressured Conan Doyle to revive Sherlock Holmes. Conan also wrote many other titles, such as The Lost World, and several other non-fiction books. 

Stephanie Baudet was born in Cheshire and grew up in the Antipodes. She’s since spent most of her life in Buckinghamshire. She’s the author of over eighty children’s books, including The Dinosaur Detectives and Mr Pattacake, and has been writing since the 1980s. She’s the author behind all three of Sweet Cherry Publishing’s Sherlock Holmes box sets, as well as versions of Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights.


Titles in this set

  • A Study In Scarlet
  • The Sign of the Four
  • The Red-Headed League
  • The Blue Carbuncle
  • The Speckled Band
  • The Reigate Squires
  • The Naval Treaty
  • The Sussex Vampire
  • The Veiled Lodger
  • The Three Students


From the publisher

A simplification of Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, perfect for young fans of mystery books. A great introduction to classics for children aged 7+. Each book comes with free read-along audio. Just scan the barcode on the first page of each book.

This ten-book set includes A Study In Scarlet, The Sign of the Four, The Blue Carbuncle, The Speckled Band, The Red-Headed League, The Reigate Squires, The Naval Treaty, The Sussex Vampire, The Red-Headed League and The Three Students.