Skip to content

Sherlock Holmes Children's Collection 20 Books (Series 1 & 2) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle - Ages 7-9 - Paperback

SKU: B2D2487-B2D2924 ISBN: 9789124370428
Current price £22.99
£22.99 - £22.99
Current price £22.99
Original price £139.80
Original price £139.80 - Original price £139.80
Original price £139.80
Sold out


A simplification of Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes, perfect for young fans of mystery books aged 7+. Includes QR codes for the free audio. This set is one of our bestsellers and the beautiful box packs the timeless classics together. This ten-book set includes A Study In Scarlet, The Sign of the Four, The Blue Carbuncle, The Speckled Band, The Naval Treaty, The Sussex Vampire, The Red Headed League and The Three Student

About Sherlock Holmes: Sherlock Holmes, a fictional character created by the author Arthur Conan Doyle. Holmes made his debut impression in Conan Doyle’s A Study in Scarlet in 1887. He would chase and seek criminals tirelessly during the Victorian and Edwardian London, in Europe and southern England. Since its creation, Holmes has remained one of the most profound and recognizable characters in the detective world and genre.

The writer Conan Doyle had actually created the character Sherlock Holmes based off of his University professor Dr. Joseph Bell at University of Edinburgh Medical School. One key characteristic that Holmes shares with his real life self of Dr. Bells is his miraculous ability to collect crucial information and evidence from his natural talent of observation and analytical skills and reasoning. 

Sherlock Holmes is accompanied by his trusted friend and companion Dr. John H. Watson who both pursues the mind bending cases together. Even though Holme’s ability to solve problems seems to be perplexing and difficult to grasp, he has quoted his straightforward approach to his objectives: “When you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable must be the truth”.

In his story, Holmes is portrayed as a very untidy person, his London abode is organised and tidied up by his housekeeper. Holmes' strong personality is shown when he is not working on a case, he is often subjected to depression, playing violin, and uses drugs and smoking to pass time. Sherlock Holmes is described as a tall, thin and dark man with a high nose, strong eyes and angled shoulders. 

About the author: Arthur Conan Doyle born in 22 May 1859, trained as a doctor, worked as a surgeon and also a medical officer. However when his writer career began, he focussed on many stories and one of which was Sherlock Holmes, the series became an instant success in England since its appearance published in Beeton’s Christmas Annual. Despite the success of Sherlock Holmes, Arthur wanted to end the series by killing off the character in hopes that he could prioritise other writing ideas he had at the time. However the public and fans who were die-hard followers of his work at the time made a massive commotion which pressured Arthur to revive Sherlock Holmes. Conan also wrote many other titles such as The Lost World' and several other non-fiction books. 

Titles in this set:

    1. A Study In Scarlet
    2. The Sign of the Four
    3. The Blue Carbuncle
    4. The Speckled Band
    5. The Red Headed League
    6. The Reigate Squires
    7. The Naval Treaty
    8. The Sussex Vampire
    9. The Three Students
    10. The Veiled Lodger
    11. A Scandal In Bohemia
    12. The Copper Beeches
    13. The Six Napoleons
    14. The Engineer’s Thumb
    15. Charles Augustus Milverton
    16. Silver Blaze
    17. The Bruce-Partington Plans
    18. The Musgrave Ritual
    19. The Stockbroker’s Clerk 
    20. The Final Problem