Skip to content
Get 67% Off - The Land of Stories Series by Chris Colfer
Get 67% Off - The Land of Stories Series by Chris Colfer

Claude A Rather Smashing Collection by Alex T. Smith 9 Books Box Set - Ages 7-9 - Paperback

Sold out
Original price £53.91
Original price £53.91 - Original price £53.91
Original price £53.91
Current price £19.95
£19.95 - £19.95
Current price £19.95
Availability:
Out of stock

Free Delivery Over £40 | Express Available

SKU B2D3627 ISBN: 9781444964790
Collect Book Points from your order!

10% cashback is waiting for you! Click on the green icon reading "Unlock Exclusive Rewards" below to sign up.

Claude A Rather Smashing Collection is a delightful anthology of eight stories featuring the lovable and adventurous Claude, a small dog with a big personality. Written and illustrated by Alex T. Smith, this collection includes Claude in the City, Claude on Holiday, Claude at the Circus, Claude in the Country, Claude in the Spotlight, Claude on the Slopes, Claude: Lights! Camera! Action!, and Claude: Going for Gold.

The stories follow Claude and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock, as they embark on various exciting adventures. Claude's escapades are full of humour and fun, from exploring the bustling city to taking a vacation by the seaside to performing in the circus. Along the way, Claude and Sir Bobblysock encounter a colourful cast of characters, including other dogs, cats, and humans, each with their own unique personality.

The charming illustrations in Claude A Rather Smashing Collection capture the playful energy of the stories, with vibrant colours and bold lines that bring the characters and settings to life. The illustrations also incorporate humour and wit, with clever visual jokes and puns that will delight young readers and adults alike.

One of the strengths of this collection is its accessibility to early readers. The stories are written in short, simple sentences, making them perfect for emerging readers to practice their skills. The vocabulary is age-appropriate, and the stories are paced well to hold the attention of young children. These books are perfect for children learning to read and are still improving their comprehension skills. With this in mind, they are ideal for 7-9-year-olds as they contain longer sentences and bigger paragraphs but are broken up by images to make them more manageable. 

Another strength of this collection is the positive themes and values woven throughout the stories. Claude is a kind, brave, and adventurous dog who values friendship, loyalty, and the importance of trying new things. These values are subtly woven into the narratives, making them an excellent example for young readers to follow. Claude A Rather Smashing Collection is a wonderful addition to any child's bookshelf. With its engaging stories, charming illustrations, and positive values, it is sure to capture the hearts and imaginations of young readers. It is perfect for parents to read aloud to their children or for emerging readers to practice their skills independently. Alex T. Smith has created a timeless character in Claude, and this collection is a must-have for fans of the adventurous pup.



Titles in this set:

1) Claude in the City

2) Claude on Holiday

3) Claude at the Circus

4) Claude in the Country

5) Claude in the Spotlight

6) Claude on the Slopes

7) Claude: Lights! Camera! Action!

8) Claude Going for Gold!

9) Santa Claude

The Claude series is perfect for fans of Kitty's Superhero Adventures by Paula Harrison and Stick Dog Series By Tom Watson. Don't forget to check out our dog books page! Perfect for any little reader who wants to go on extraordinary adventures with a four-legged and waggy-tailed friend. 

About the author: 

Alex T. Smith is a British author and illustrator best known for his charming children's books featuring characters such as Claude, Egg, and Mr Penguin. Born in 1985, Smith grew up in Buckinghamshire and graduated from Coventry University with a degree in Illustration and Animation.

Smith began his career as an author and illustrator in 2008 with his debut picture book, "Eliot Jones, Midnight Superhero." He quickly gained recognition for his engaging illustrations and humour and went on to publish a variety of successful picture books and chapter books, including the Claude series, Egg, and Mr Penguin.

Smith's illustrations are characterized by their whimsical, playful style and use of bold colours and lines. He often incorporates clever visual jokes and puns into his work, adding an extra layer of humour and fun for readers. His stories are accessible for early readers, with simple, age-appropriate vocabulary and engaging fast-paced plots.

In addition to his writing and illustrating, Smith is also a passionate advocate for literacy and education. He frequently visits schools and libraries to speak with children about his books and the creative process, inspiring young readers to explore their own creativity and love of reading. Alex T. Smith is a talented and imaginative author and illustrator who has made a significant contribution to the world of children's literature. His work is beloved by children and parents alike, and his positive influence on literacy and education makes him a valuable figure in the literary community.

From the publisher:

Claude in the City

When Mr and Mrs Shinyshoes set off for work, Claude decides what adventure he wants to have that day. Today he and Sir Bobblysock go to the city for the very first time.

Claude on Holiday

Sir Bobblysock and Claude go on holiday for the very first time. They build sandcastles, eat ice cream and sunbathe. It is all very normal until ... Claude meets a band of pirates and discovers buried treasure.

Claude at the Circus

A walk in the park leads to a walk on a tightrope when Claude joins a circus, throws custard pies, and becomes the star of the show.

Claude in the Country

A quiet nature walk in the country turns into a busy day on the farm when Claude ends up mucking out the pigs, feeding the chickens, and lassoing a fearsome bull!

Claude in the Spotlight

A gentle stroll through town leads to leg kicking and bottom shaking as Claude dances his way into the theatre and straight into the spotlight!

Claude on the Slopes

In this winter adventure, Claude goes from throwing snowballs and making snowmen to causing an all-out avalanche!

Claude: Lights! Camera! Action!

Claude discovers a film set right in his very own town! When the two lead actors are injured, Claude and Sir Bobblysock are asked to take their places.

Claude Going for Gold!

Claude and Sir Bobblysock are excited to discover a Stonking Great Big Sports Day at their local sports centre! They are even more excited when they are asked to take part.

Santa Claude

Claude and Sir Bobblysock think they've caught a burglar coming down the chimney on Christmas Eve.

FREE DELIVERY FOR ORDERS OVER £40

We aim to process and dispatch our orders within 24 hours. The orders go into our warehouse to be picked, packed and consolidated into one parcel where appropriate. Please note orders are only processed Monday-Friday.

We sometimes split orders between multiple parcels. Items from our extended range section are dispatched separately.

If any items are missing from your delivery, please allow 2 working days for the rest of your order to arrive before contacting us at sales@books2door.com

All of our books are 100% brand new, unread and purchased directly from the publishers in bulk allowing us to pass the huge savings on to you!

UK DELIVERIES

Single Books and items under 750g

Standard Delivery: £1.99 (2-4 working days)

Orders Under £40

Standard Delivery: £3.99 (2-4 working days)
Express Delivery: £5.99 (1-2 working days)

Orders between £40 and £100

Standard Delivery: Free (2-4 working days)
Express Delivery: £3.99 (reduced rate, 1-2 working days)

Orders over £100

Express Delivery: Free  (1-2 working days)

These delivery times are the maximum delivery periods that a purchase can take to reach our customers. Delivery may be sooner than this. These times are an estimation, not a guarantee.

There are no deliveries on Saturdays, Sundays or Bank Holidays.

We’ve been featured in...

Get your order now

Ordering from Books2Door couldn't be simpler

Order

We make it easy to find your favourite books

Delivery

We pack your order safely and send it straight to your door

Benefits

With book points, wishlist, refer a friend and more, you'll want to shop again

Support

Any problems? Contact our support team

Big box sets at tiny prices

Big box sets at tiny prices

Welcome to Books2Door, the one-stop shop for all your children's book needs! We specialise in selling cheap children’s box sets and series at bargain prices.

At Books2Door, we believe that reading is a fundamental skill that every child should have to help improve their vocabulary, grammar, and critical thinking skills.

We understand that buying kids books can be expensive. That's why we offer a wide range of box sets and series at affordable prices, making it easier for parents, teachers, and libraries to access quality books for children.

Our team is made up of book lovers who are dedicated to sourcing and providing the best books for kids. We work closely with publishers and authors to ensure that we offer the best books on the market for your child.

Our story

Don't just take our word for it...

Check out our amazing reviews on Trustpilot, Google Customer Reviews, Reviews.io and more!

FAQs

Are your books brand new? How are they such good value?

All our books are brand new and delivered to us straight from the publisher. Our special sales editions are bought in bulk at a great discount - which we pass on to you!

Are the books different from what I've seen in the high street?

Special sales editions are made with more affordable materials, allowing the publisher to keep the cost price down, and we can sell it for less than the standard editions

What if I have a problem with my order?

Our support team is available during regular business hours to support you with any questions you may have. Call or 0116 210 4294 or email us.

Fantastic Savings

Up to 80% off RRP

Unlimited Delivery

From £9.95 a year with PLUS+

1 Million Customers

Bargain prices since 2004

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Service

0116 210 4294 or email us