Skip to content
Up to 10% multi buy discounts + 10% cashback *
Up to 10% multi buy discounts + 10% cashback *

All Souls Trilogy Collection 3 Books Set - Young Adult - Paperback - Deborah Harkness

SKU: B2D2011 ISBN: 9789124368746
Current price £10.99
Original price £26.97
You Save £15.98 (59%)

Perfect for readers progressing in their journey of novels, this mysterious and magical trilogy is hard to put down once you get started so it’s no surprise that it’s received rave reviews and has been described as ‘phenomenal’. A Discovery of Witches, published in 2011 is a historical-fantasy fiction novel and the debut title by American scholar Deborah Harkness. Aimed at young adults, the spinning of different plots in these three novels will engage and capture readers from start to finish. Since it was first published back in 2011, this US-based plot has been turned into a binge-worthy TV series and has gone on to sell millions of copies worldwide. Deborah Harkness’s, A Discovery of Witches brought her into the spotlight and galvanised fans around the world. So what is it about this trilogy that has captured readers' minds? Let’s find out. 

The story follows Diana Bishop, a history of science professor from Yale University but the main setting for the story occurs during her time at the University of Oxford while she is conducting research. Readers will soon learn to discover that she’s actually a witch and Diana’s life is flipped upside down. Not only that, she has rejected this aspect of her life since the death of her parents when she was seven so it’s something that Diana has always known about and lived with as she’s grown up. Diana is not just academic, she is also a non-practicing witch. She has not learned to practice witchcraft and has minimized her interaction with other witches. While researching in the library, Diana requests a book called Ashmole 782. This manuscript, also known as the Book of Life, has been missing for over 150 years. 

After accidentally finding an elusive, long-thought-lost manuscript, she is compelled to embrace the magic in her blood that she has sought to keep out of her life. As soon as Diana touches the ancient manuscript, her powers are activated and the author brings this to life wonderfully throughout the novel as readers can truly visualise each detail. Frightened by her clear cosmic connection to Ashmole 782, Diana returns the book. It appears, however, that her discovery had already caught the attention of other creatures, resulting in a series of events that slowly brings her witch heritage back into her life. Upon returning the book, it appears, however, that her discovery had already caught the attention of other creatures, resulting in a series of events that slowly brings her witch heritage back into her life. In comes the antagonist of the narrative. Matthew Clairmont is a vampire who has spent at least 150 years looking for that book. When word travels that the book is in Oxford, he races over expecting to see the book but instead he encounters Diana Bishop. Matthew's vampiric protective instincts set in and he makes it his responsibility to ensure Diana's safety. As the story progresses, a forbidden romance starts to bloom between the vampire and the witch. From start to finish in this trilogy, the plot is superb, cleverly written and filled with intrigue and mystery throughout. It brings together the real world, romance and the unimaginable which makes it all the more fascinating. Diana and Matthew both come alive in their own right but then unite with their personalities and motivations.

Titles in Set:

A Discovery of Witches

In this tale of passion and obsession, Diana Bishop, a young scholar and a descendant of witches, discovers a long-lost and enchanted alchemical manuscript, Ashmole 782, deep in Oxford’s Bodleian Library. Its reappearance summons a fantastical underworld, which she navigates with her leading man, vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont. When historian Diana Bishop opens a bewitched alchemical manuscript in Oxford’s Bodleian Library it represents an unwelcome intrusion of magic into her carefully ordinary life. Though descended from a long line of witches, she is determined to remain untouched by her family’s legacy. She banishes the manuscript to the stacks, but Diana soon realises it is somewhat impossible to hold the world of magic at bay any longer.

Shadow of Night

Picking up from A Discovery of Witches’ cliffhanger ending, Shadow of Night takes Diana and Matthew on a trip through time to Elizabethan London, where they are plunged into a world of spies, magic, and a coterie of Matthew’s old friends, the School of Night. Diana Bishop, Oxford scholar and reluctant witch, and the handsome geneticist and vampire Matthew Clairmont; together they found themselves at the center of a supernatural battle over an enchanted manuscript known as Ashmole 782. As the search for Ashmole 782 deepens and Diana seeks out a witch to tutor her in magic, the net of Matthew’s past tightens around them. They are drawn to one another despite long standing taboos, and in pursuit of Diana’s spellbound powers, the two embark upon a time-walking and dangerous journey.

The Book of Life

Bringing the magic and suspense of the All Souls Trilogy to a deeply satisfying conclusion, this highly anticipated finale went straight to #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies.Diana and Matthew time-travel back from Elizabethan London to make a dramatic return to the present facing new crises and old enemies.  At Matthew’s ancestral home, Sept-Tours, they reunite with the beloved cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches, with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency.