Skip to content
Get 12 Months of Free Delivery with Books2Door PLUS+ from £6.95
Get 12 Months of Free Delivery with Books2Door PLUS+ from £6.95

The East End Nurse by Sheila Newberry

by Zaffre
SKU: 9781838772048 ISBN: 9781838772048
£7.99
£7.99 - £7.99
Current price £7.99
Original price £7.99 - Original price £7.99
Original price £7.99
Previously published as The Poplar Penny Whistlers. A warm-hearted and nostalgic family saga from the author of The Nursemaid's Secret and A Winter Hope. Perfect for readers of Katie Flynn and for fans of Call the Midwife. London's East End, 1890Growing up in poverty, Hester Stainsby toils day and night in the laundry room of Poplar Hospital to help support her family; her father Fred, her younger twin siblings, Harry and Polly, and cantankerous Granny Garter. When Fred is badly injured in an accident at the docks, the family's fortunes take a turn for the worse. Determined to make a better life for herself and her loved ones, Hester trains to be a nurse, throwing herself into hospital life. Nursing in London's busy East End is never easy and Hester must be willing to make sacrifices. But when a heroic and mysterious patient lands in her care, she feels something she never has before. Will love jeopardise everything she's worked so hard for? And can she find the happiness she and her family are so desperately searching for?'Like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen.' Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family; 400 pages; Published: 11/11/2021