Skip to content

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Original price £9.99 - Original price £9.99
Original price £9.99
£9.99
£9.99 - £9.99
Current price £9.99
Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped

Extended Range Product | Free Delivery | UK Only

This product is part of our extended range. It will be dispatched separately from the rest of your order. It is not included in promotions available to our main range products, as stated in our terms of service. Gift wrap is not available.

SKU 9781409181637 ISBN: 9781409181637
Collect Book Points from your order!

10% cashback is waiting for you! Click on the green icon reading "Unlock Exclusive Rewards" below to sign up.

The Silent Patient, a psychological thriller written by Alex Michaelides, is a novel that captivates readers from the very first page. Published in 2019, the book became an instant sensation, praised for its suspenseful plot, complex characters, and surprising twists. With its dark atmosphere and psychological depth, The Silent Patient takes readers on a journey into the twisted mind of a notorious artist and the therapist determined to unlock her secrets. Be sure to check out our other crime thrillers, why not treat yourself to a nail-biting literary adventure with The Silent Patient and many more with Books2Door. 

The story revolves around Alicia Berenson, a talented artist who has seemingly led a picture-perfect life until the night she shoots her husband Gabriel five times in the face and then never speaks another word. Theo Faber, a psychotherapist fascinated by Alicia's case, becomes determined to treat her and uncover the truth behind the murder. Theo takes up a job at The Grove, the psychiatric facility where Alicia resides, and begins his quest to break through her silence.

As Theo delves deeper into Alicia's past, he uncovers a web of secrets and lies. He becomes obsessed with understanding the motive behind the crime, unravelling Alicia's troubled childhood, and her relationships with her family and friends. Throughout the narrative, the reader is taken on a roller-coaster ride, encountering unexpected twists and shocking revelations that challenge their perceptions and keep them on the edge of their seats.

The Silent Patient explores various themes, including the human psyche, the nature of guilt, the power of art, and the limits of therapy. The author skillfully delves into the depths of the character's minds, exploring the impact of trauma, the masks people wear, and the consequences of repressed emotions. The book highlights the complexities of mental health, shedding light on the blurred lines between sanity and insanity.

Alex Michaelides presents a cast of intriguing characters that add depth and complexity to the story. Alicia Berenson, the titular silent patient, remains an enigma for a significant portion of the book. Her silence raises questions about her sanity and motives, leaving readers eager to uncover the truth. Theo Faber, the determined therapist, also harbours his own secrets, making him a flawed and relatable protagonist. The interactions between the characters are layered, offering insights into the complexities of human relationships and the impact of past traumas on their present lives.

Michaelides' writing style is engaging and evocative, creating an atmospheric and suspenseful narrative. The pacing is masterfully executed, with the author skillfully revealing information at strategic moments, heightening the tension and keeping readers guessing. The book alternates between Alicia's diary entries leading up to the murder and Theo's present-day investigation, providing different perspectives and building intrigue. The short chapters and crisp prose make the story easily digestible, propelling readers forward with anticipation.

One of the most remarkable aspects of The Silent Patient is its ability to surprise readers. Just when they think they have unravelled the truth, a twist occurs, challenging their assumptions and forcing them to reassess everything they thought they knew. The suspense builds steadily throughout the book, leading to a climactic and emotionally charged resolution. Without giving away spoilers, it can be said that the ending is both shocking and satisfying, tying up loose ends while leaving room for contemplation.

The Silent Patient has garnered widespread acclaim and has become an international bestseller. Its success can be attributed to the author's ability to craft a compelling narrative that blends elements of psychological suspense, mystery, and thriller genres seamlessly. It serves as a testament to the enduring appeal of psychological thrillers and the timeless fascination with the human mind

In The Silent Patient, Alex Michaelides weaves a mesmerising tale of deception, guilt, and the search for truth. With its engrossing plot, well-drawn characters, and expertly executed twists, the book remains a standout in the realm of psychological thrillers. Through its exploration of the human psyche and the complexities of mental health, The Silent Patient offers readers a thought-provoking and unforgettable reading experience.

Be sure to check out Alex Michaelides’ second novel, The Maidens. The Silent Patient and The Maidens are perfect for fans of B.A. Paris’ Behind Closed Doors or the three bestselling thrillers The Guest List, The Hunting Party and The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley, all three are available in our Lucy Foley three-book set. It is also rumoured that Brad Pitt's production company, Plan B, is developing The Silent Patient as a film so buy the book now before you see the big screen adaption! Find out what everyone has been talking about with this fantastic psychological thriller and bestselling book. 

From the publishers: 

WITH OVER THREE MILLION COPIES SOLD, read the Sunday Times and No.1 New York Times bestselling, record-breaking thriller that everyone is talking about - soon to be a major film. 'The perfect thriller' AJ FINN'Terrific' - THE TIMES Crime Book of the Month'Smart, sophisticated suspense' - LEE CHILD'Compelling' - OBSERVER'Absolutely brilliant' - STEPHEN FRY'A totally original psychological mystery' - DAVID BALDACCI'One of the best thrillers I've read this year' - CARA HUNTER'The pace and finesse of a master' - BBC CULTUREAlicia Berenson lived a seemingly perfect life until one day six years ago. When she shot her husband in the head five times. Since then she hasn't spoken a single word. It's time to find out why. THE SILENT PATIENT is the gripping must-read thriller of the year - perfect for fans of THE FAMILY UPSTAIRS by Lisa Jewell, BLOOD ORANGE by Harriet Tyce and PLAYING NICE by JP Delaney.; 352 pages; Published: 12/12/2019.

FREE DELIVERY FOR ORDERS OVER £40

We aim to process and dispatch our orders within 24 hours. The orders go into our warehouse to be picked, packed and consolidated into one parcel where appropriate. Please note orders are only processed Monday-Friday.

We sometimes split orders between multiple parcels. Items from our extended range section are dispatched separately.

If any items are missing from your delivery, please allow 2 working days for the rest of your order to arrive before contacting us at sales@books2door.com

All of our books are 100% brand new, unread and purchased directly from the publishers in bulk allowing us to pass the huge savings on to you!

UK DELIVERIES

Single Books and items under 750g

Standard Delivery: £1.99 (2-4 working days)

Orders Under £40

Standard Delivery: £3.99 (2-4 working days)
Express Delivery: £5.99 (1-2 working days)

Orders between £40 and £100

Standard Delivery: Free (2-4 working days)
Express Delivery: £3.99 (reduced rate, 1-2 working days)

Orders over £100

Express Delivery: Free  (1-2 working days)

These delivery times are the maximum delivery periods that a purchase can take to reach our customers. Delivery may be sooner than this. These times are an estimation, not a guarantee.

There are no deliveries on Saturdays, Sundays or Bank Holidays.

We’ve been featured in...

Get your order now

Ordering from Books2Door couldn't be simpler

Order

We make it easy to find your favourite books

Delivery

We pack your order safely and send it straight to your door

Benefits

With book points, wishlist, refer a friend and more, you'll want to shop again

Support

Any problems? Contact our support team

Big box sets at tiny prices

Big box sets at tiny prices

Welcome to Books2Door, the one-stop shop for all your children's book needs! We specialise in selling cheap children’s box sets and series at bargain prices.

At Books2Door, we believe that reading is a fundamental skill that every child should have to help improve their vocabulary, grammar, and critical thinking skills.

We understand that buying kids books can be expensive. That's why we offer a wide range of box sets and series at affordable prices, making it easier for parents, teachers, and libraries to access quality books for children.

Our team is made up of book lovers who are dedicated to sourcing and providing the best books for kids. We work closely with publishers and authors to ensure that we offer the best books on the market for your child.

Our story

Don't just take our word for it...

Check out our amazing reviews on Trustpilot, Google Customer Reviews, Reviews.io and more!

FAQs

Are your books brand new? How are they such good value?

All our books are brand new and delivered to us straight from the publisher. Our special sales editions are bought in bulk at a great discount - which we pass on to you!

Are the books different from what I've seen in the high street?

Special sales editions are made with more affordable materials, allowing the publisher to keep the cost price down, and we can sell it for less than the standard editions

What if I have a problem with my order?

Our support team is available during regular business hours to support you with any questions you may have. Call or 0116 210 4294 or email us.

Fantastic Savings

Up to 80% off RRP

Unlimited Delivery

From £9.95 a year with PLUS+

1 Million Customers

Bargain prices since 2004

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Service

0116 210 4294 or email us