Skip to content
Get 33% off bestselling non-fiction!
Get 33% off bestselling non-fiction!

Frank Cottrell-Boyce 5 Book Collection - Ages 9-14 - Paperback

Save 57% Save 57%
Original price £34.95
Original price £34.95 - Original price £34.95
Original price £34.95
Current price £14.91
£14.91 - £14.91
Current price £14.91
Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped

Free Delivery Over £40 | Express Available

SKU B2D2070 ISBN: 9781509880287
Collect Book Points from your order!

10% cashback is waiting for you! Click on the green icon reading "Unlock Exclusive Rewards" below to sign up.

Frank Cottrell-Boyce is a British children's author who has written several acclaimed novels, many of which have been adapted for television and film. His books are known for their humour, heart, and sense of adventure, and they often explore complex themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers. In this essay, we will take a closer look at five of Cottrell-Boyce's most famous works: Millions, Framed, Cosmic, The Astounding Broccoli Boy, and Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth.

Titles in this Set:

  • Millions: the not-so-great train robbery
  • Framed: the perfect crime - it's a work of art
  • Cosmic: it's one giant leap for all boy-kind
  • The Astounding Broccoli Boy
  • Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth

This five-book collection brings together five fantastic stories from author Frank Cottrell-Boyce. The set includes brilliant stories such as The Astounding Broccoli Boy, which was shortlisted for the Blue Peter book award, Cosmic, Framed, Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth, and Millions. This set is ideal for children aged 9+ interested in funny and wacky stories, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and the Tom Gates series

Millions is a novel about two brothers, Damian and Anthony, who stumble upon a large sum of money that has been accidentally dropped from a train. The boys are both dealing with the recent loss of their mother, and the sudden wealth throws their lives into chaos. Damian, who is a devout Catholic, believes that money is a gift from God and wants to use it to help others, while Anthony is more interested in using it to buy toys and gadgets. The book explores themes of grief, faith, and the power of money, and it is written in a light, humorous style that makes it accessible to young readers.

Framed is another novel that deals with serious themes in a humourous way. It tells the story of a boy named Dylan who lives in a small Welsh town that is struggling to stay afloat. When a famous painting is brought to the town for safekeeping, Dylan and his friends hatch a plan to steal it and sell it to a wealthy buyer. The book explores themes of community, economic hardship, and the value of art, and it is full of quirky characters and humorous moments.

Cosmic is a science fiction novel that tells the story of a boy named Liam who is mistaken for an adult and sent on a mission to space. The book explores themes of identity, growing up, and the challenges of parenthood, and it is full of adventure and humour. Liam's experiences in space are both exhilarating and terrifying, and the book does a great job of capturing the wonder and excitement of space travel.

The Astounding Broccoli Boy is a novel about a boy named Rory who develops superpowers after eating contaminated broccoli. The book explores themes of friendship, identity, and the dangers of relying on one's abilities too much. Rory's powers are both a blessing and a curse, and the book does a great job of showing how difficult it can be to navigate life with a unique set of abilities.

Finally, Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth is a novel about a boy named Prez who is sent to live with a foster family for the summer. Prez is initially miserable in his new home, but his life is turned upside down when he meets Sputnik, an alien who looks like a dog and is on a mission to save the Earth. The book explores themes of family, friendship, and the importance of protecting our planet. Sputnik is a charming and hilarious character, and the book does a great job of blending science fiction with humour and heart.

Frank Cottrell-Boyce's children's books are a wonderful mix of humour, heart, and adventure. They deal with serious themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers, and they are full of memorable characters and quirky situations. Whether you are looking for a book to read with your child or a book to read on your own, any of these novels would be a great choice.

About the author: 

Frank Cottrell-Boyce is a British screenwriter and children's author known for his imaginative and humorous storytelling. He was born on September 23, 1959, in Liverpool, England, and grew up in a large Catholic family. He studied English at the University of Liverpool and later earned a master's degree in Drama from the University of London.

Cottrell-Boyce began his career as a screenwriter, writing for many popular British television shows, including Coronation Street and Brookside. He also wrote the screenplay for the 2012 London Olympics Opening Ceremony, which Danny Boyle directed.

In addition to his work as a screenwriter, Cottrell-Boyce is also a prolific children's author. He has written several novels for young readers, including Millions, Framed, Cosmic, The Astounding Broccoli Boy, and Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth. His books are known for their humour, heart, and sense of adventure, and they often explore complex themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers.

Cottrell-Boyce's writing has earned him numerous awards and accolades. His novel Millions won the Carnegie Medal, one of the most prestigious awards in children's literature, and was also adapted into a successful film. His screenplay for the film Goodbye Christopher Robin was nominated for a BAFTA award, and his work on the London Olympics Opening Ceremony was widely praised.

In addition to his work as a writer, Cottrell-Boyce is also involved in a number of charitable organisations. He is a patron of the Liverpool charity The Reader, which promotes reading as a way to improve mental health and wellbeing, and he is also a supporter of the anti-poverty charity Turn2us.

Frank Cottrell-Boyce is a talented and multifaceted writer who has made a significant contribution to both children's literature and British television. His work is characterised by its humour, heart, and imagination, and he is a beloved figure in the world of children's literature.

FREE DELIVERY FOR ORDERS OVER £40

We aim to process and dispatch our orders within 24 hours. The orders go into our warehouse to be picked, packed and consolidated into one parcel where appropriate. Please note orders are only processed Monday-Friday.

We sometimes split orders between multiple parcels. Items from our extended range section are dispatched separately.

If any items are missing from your delivery, please allow 2 working days for the rest of your order to arrive before contacting us at sales@books2door.com

All of our books are 100% brand new, unread and purchased directly from the publishers in bulk allowing us to pass the huge savings on to you!

UK DELIVERIES

Single Books and items under 750g

Standard Delivery: £1.99 (2-4 working days)

Orders Under £40

Standard Delivery: £3.99 (2-4 working days)
Express Delivery: £5.99 (1-2 working days)

Orders between £40 and £100

Standard Delivery: Free (2-4 working days)
Express Delivery: £3.99 (reduced rate, 1-2 working days)

Orders over £100

Express Delivery: Free  (1-2 working days)

These delivery times are the maximum delivery periods that a purchase can take to reach our customers. Delivery may be sooner than this. These times are an estimation, not a guarantee.

There are no deliveries on Saturdays, Sundays or Bank Holidays.

We’ve been featured in...

Get your order now

Ordering from Books2Door couldn't be simpler

Order

We make it easy to find your favourite books

Delivery

We pack your order safely and send it straight to your door

Benefits

With book points, wishlist, refer a friend and more, you'll want to shop again

Support

Any problems? Contact our support team

Big box sets at tiny prices

Big box sets at tiny prices

Welcome to Books2Door, the one-stop shop for all your children's book needs! We specialise in selling cheap children’s box sets and series at bargain prices.

At Books2Door, we believe that reading is a fundamental skill that every child should have to help improve their vocabulary, grammar, and critical thinking skills.

We understand that buying kids books can be expensive. That's why we offer a wide range of box sets and series at affordable prices, making it easier for parents, teachers, and libraries to access quality books for children.

Our team is made up of book lovers who are dedicated to sourcing and providing the best books for kids. We work closely with publishers and authors to ensure that we offer the best books on the market for your child.

Our story

Don't just take our word for it...

Check out our amazing reviews on Trustpilot, Google Customer Reviews, Reviews.io and more!

FAQs

Are your books brand new? How are they such good value?

All our books are brand new and delivered to us straight from the publisher. Our special sales editions are bought in bulk at a great discount - which we pass on to you!

Are the books different from what I've seen in the high street?

Special sales editions are made with more affordable materials, allowing the publisher to keep the cost price down, and we can sell it for less than the standard editions

What if I have a problem with my order?

Our support team is available during regular business hours to support you with any questions you may have. Call or 0116 210 4294 or email us.

Fantastic Savings

Up to 80% off RRP

Unlimited Delivery

From £9.95 a year with PLUS+

1 Million Customers

Bargain prices since 2004

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Service

0116 210 4294 or email us