Skip to content
10% cashback + £5 off when you refer us - Read more
10% cashback + £5 off when you refer us - Read more

The Original Railway Series Thomas the Tank Engine The Classic Library 26 Book Collection - Ages 5-7 - Hardback - Rev. W. Awdry

by Dean
SKU: B2D0006 ISBN: 9780603575518
Current price $43.21
Original price $196.45
Sold out

The Original Railway Series is a collection of children’s books which takes readers on a journey across the wonderful land of Sodor, a suitable franchise for ages 5-7 and fans of Thomas the Tank Engine. Browse here for more classic series. The original author and founder of this classic series was a writer called Reverend W. Awdry. He started writing the initial stories in 1943, he wrote and published a total 26 books between 1945 and 1972. Several years later, the task was handed to Reverend’s son Christopher Awdry where he wrote 16 more books. These books built momentum and massive popularity among young children and has become a timeless classic and a special memorable part of childhood, these books are also adapted to tv shows and toys.

1942, Wilbert’s son Christopher was unfortunately suffering from measles and Wilbert wanted to keep Christopher entertained during this difficult period and so he would tell stories about steam engines with various expressions and characteristic, one of the characters called Edward was portrayed with a sad face by Wilbert; which at the time created empathy as young Christopher was also feeling unwell and down. Christopher kept asking for more and more stories and eventually after recovery from his illness, he wanted more storytime from his father and so Wilbert recorded these ideas down so he can continue to tell more wondrous stories and retain the original ideas.

This passion to entertain Wilbert’s son was no more than just a sweet moment to keep Christopher from feeling down, but Wilbert’s wife encouraged Wilbert to get these ideas published. His wife Margaret reached out to Wilbert’s mother who had connections to the publishing industry and though it was initially unsuccessful in the beginning of securing an opportunity - in 1943 the project was put forward for work to get final sketches and chapters completed and in 1945 in May, the book The Three Railway Engines “Edward, Gordon and Henry” was published! 

Fans of the Thomas the Tank Engine will love this original classic set, and it’s truly a wonderful masterpiece to add this collection for children, it will bring awe for kids of the first drawings and books. 

Ever since 1945, Thomas the Tank Engine and friends have been delighting and entertaining children with their incredible adventures. This 26-book collection brings together The Rev W. Awdry's classic, original stories in one big, beautiful box. A beautiful keepsake for children to proudly display on their bookshelves, the colourful books are all presented in hardback and will introduce readers aged 3+ to the likes of Thomas, Gordon, Henry, James and Edward. Timeless tales that will be enjoyed as much by parents and grandparents as they will the children they're being read to, this is an amazing gift to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Railway series. Books Collection

Relive the adventures of Thomas and friends in this original railway series Thomas the Tank Engine Classic Library 26 book collection from Rev. W. Awdry. This vintage looking set is perfect for all Thomas fans. With classic illustrations in small hardback books, this set is beautifully put together to give an original look. This set is perfect for children aged 5+ and is a fantastic gift for fans of the series of all ages.

Titles in Collection

  • The Three Railway Engines
  • Thomas The Tank Engine
  • James The Red Engine
  • Tank Engine Thomas Again
  • Troublesome Engines
  • Henry the Green Engine
  • Toby the Tram Engine
  • Gordon the Big Engine
  • Edward the Blue Engine
  • Four Little Engines
  • Percy the Small Engine
  • The Eight Famous Engines
  • Duck and the Diesel Engine
  • The Little Old Engine
  • The Twin Engines
  • Branch Line Engines
  • Gallant Old Engine
  • Stepney the "Bluebell" Engine
  • Mountain Engines
  • Very Old Engines
  • Main Line Engines
  • Small Railway Engines
  • Enterprising Engines
  • Oliver the Western Engine
  • Duke the Lost Engine
  • Tramway Engines